Halberg Award categories

The 55th Halberg Awards to honour and celebrate New Zealand sporting excellence in 2017 and raise funds for the Halberg Disability Sport Foundation will be held on Thursday 8 February 2018 at Spark Arena in Auckland.  The Awards ceremony will also be broadcast live on SKY SPORT. 

The following awards will be presented at the 55th Halberg Awards:

  • Halberg Award (the supreme award selected from the winners of the Sportsman, Sportswoman, Disabled Sportsperson and Team of the Year Award categories)
  • Sportsman of the Year
  • High Performance Sport New Zealand Sportswoman of the Year
  • Halberg Disabled Sportsperson of the Year
  • Team of the Year
  • Emerging Talent Award
  • New Zealand's Favourite Sporting Moment - public vote award
  • Buddle Findlay Coach of the Year Award
  • Lifetime Achievement Award
  • Sport New Zealand Leadership Award
  • Sports Hall of Fame Inductees