The information below outlines the eligibility rules for each of the Major Award Categories (including the supreme Halberg Award of the Decade, Sportsman of the Decade, Sportswoman of the Decade, Para Athlete of the Decade, Team of the Decade and Coach of the Decade).

The supreme Halberg Award Decade Champion is chosen from the previous winners of the supreme Halberg Award. 


The winners of each Major Award category must have won a Halberg award for achievements in 2010 – 2019 to be eligible.