Voting Academy

The Halberg Foundation selects individuals to the ISPS Handa Halberg Awards Voting Academy (“The Academy”) who have distinguished themselves in their field and have the knowledge, expertise, and experience to make sound decisions.

Voting Academy members are expected to uphold the highest standards of fairness, accuracy, and integrity. The entire judging process adheres firmly to these guiding principles.

The Voting Academy comprises 25 to 30 members, of which the majority are former elite athletes, coaches, and/or sports administrators (who may still be currently involved), and the remainder being current sports media.

The Voting Academy vote by secret ballot to determine the winners for the Supreme, Sportsman, Sportswoman, Para Athlete/Team, Team and Coach categories.

The expectations and responsibilities of the voting academy members are to: 

  • vote on time
  • not disclose how they, or any other member, voted
  • have no collusion between Voting Academy members.
  • disclose any conflicts of interest (e.g. family members nominated etc)
  • accept the collective responsibility of Academy decisions
  • respect the integrity of the Academy, Halberg Awards, and Halberg Foundation, and to take no action that will impact negatively on their reputations.

The current voting academy is: Abby Wilson, Alexis Pritchard, Alison Shanks, Andrew Alderson, Andrew Mulligan, Ben Lucas, Bernadine Oliver-Kerby, Brendon Pongia, Dan Buckingham, Dr Farah Palmer, Eddie Kohlhase, Fred Woodcock, Graeme Crosby, Grant Sharman, Ivan Vicelich, Jayne Craike, Jodi Brown, Lesley Murdoch, Maia Jackman, Marc Hinton, Peter Williams, Rebecca Dubber, Sarah Cowley Ross, Suzanne McFadden, Tom Bartlett.

Please refer to Judging Criteria for more information.