New Zealand's Favourite Sporting Moment of the Decade

New Zealand’s Favourite Sporting Moment of the Decade, the only category voted for by the public at the ISPS Handa Halberg Awards Decade Champion, will be open for voting on 30 November, 2020. 

New Zealand's Favourite Sporting Moment of the Decade Finalists include:


  1. All Whites (football) 2010, Winson Reid's last minute goal against Slovakia in the FIFA World Cup (Johannesburg, South Africa 


  1. All Blacks (rugby) 2011, the final whistle; All Blacks vs. France, Rugby World Cup Final (Auckland, New Zealand) 


  1.  Nathan Cohen & Joseph Sullivan (rowing) 2012, storm from behind to win gold in the 2012 London Olympics (London, England) 


  1.  Black Sox (softball) 2013, win the ISF Men’s World Softball Championships (Auckland, New Zealand) 


  1. Brendon McCullum (cricket) 2014, scores a record 302 against India for BLACKCAPS (Wellington, New Zealand) 


  1. Grant Elliott (cricket) 2015, smashes a six off the second-to-last ball of the semi-final against South Africa to put the BLACKCAPS into the Cricket World Cup final (Auckland, New Zealand) 


  1.  Eliza McCartney (athletics) 2016, winning the bronze medal with her final pole vault attempt at the Rio Olympics (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil) 


  1. Mitchell Hunt (rugby) 2017, drops a stunning last-minute drop goal securing the win for the Crusaders during the Super Rugby season (Christchurch, New Zealand) 


  1.  Anna Leat (football) 2018, successful penalty shootout against Japan, leading New Zealand into the semi-final of the FIFA Under-17 Women's World Cup (Uruguay, South America) 


  1. Silver Ferns (netball) 2019, winning the Netball World Cup (Liverpool, England)