ISPS Handa Halberg Award Decade Champion nominations

Nominations are not required for the ISPS Handa Halberg Awards Decade Champion as finalists are winners from previous Halberg Awards for achievements 2010–2019. 

For more information on nominations please contact 


High Performance Sport NZ Sportswoman of the Year


  • Abby Erceg (football)
  • Avalon Biddle (motorcycling)
  • Courtney Duncan (motorcycling)
  • Danielle McKenzie (canoe racing)
  • Katrina Rore (netball)
  • Kelly Brazier (rugby)
  • Laura Langman (netball)
  • Lisa Carrington (canoe racing)
  • Luuka Jones (canoe slalom)
  • Michelle Montague (mixed martial arts)
  • Phillis Meti (golf)
  • Ruby Tui (rugby)
  • Sarah Hirini (rugby)
  • Tyla Nathan-Wong (rugby)
  • Zoi Sadowski-Synnott (snowboarding)

Last year's winner :
Lisa Carrington

ISPS Handa Sportsman of the Year


  • Campbell Stewart (cycling)
  • Israel Adesanya (mixed martial arts)
  • Kane Williamson (cricket)
  • Kieran Read (rugby)
  • Lewis Clareburt (swimming)
  • Michael Venus (tennis)
  • Nico Porteous (freeskiing)
  • Paul Coll (squash)
  • Roger Tuivasa-Sheck (rugby league)
  • Scott McLaughlin (motorsport)
  • Tom Sexton (cycling)
  • Tom Walsh (athletics)

Last year's winner :
Tom Walsh

ISPS Handa Para Athlete/ Team of the Year


  • Cameron Leslie (Para swimming and wheelchair rugby)
  • Eltje Malzbender (Para cycling)
  • Emma Foy and Hannah van Kampen (Para cycling)
  • Lisa Adams (Para athletics)
  • Sophie Pascoe (Para swimming)
  • Wheel Blacks (wheelchair rugby)

Last year's winner :
Adam Hall

ISPS Handa Team of the Year


  • BLACKCAPS (cricket)
  • Black Ferns Sevens (sevens rugby)
  • Kiwi Ferns (rugby league)
  • Grace Prendergast and Kerri Gowler (rowing)
  • Zoe McBride and Jackie Kiddle (rowing)
  • Silver Ferns (netball)
  • Olivia Loe and Brooke Donoghue (rowing)
  • Women’s Eight (rowing)
  • Women’s Team Pursuit - Holly Edmondston, Bryony Botha, Kirstie James, Rushlee Buchanan and Michaela Drummond (cycling) 

Last year's winner :
Black Ferns Sevens

Buddle Findlay Coach of the Year


  • Allan Bunting (rugby)
  • Cory Sweeney (rugby)
  • Dale Stevenson (athletics)
  • Dame Valerie Adams (athletics)
  • Damian Wiseman (Para cycling)
  • Eugene Bareman (mixed martial arts)
  • Gary Hay (rowing)
  • Gary Hollywood (swimming)
  • Gary Stead (cricket)
  • Gordon Walker (canoe racing)
  • Michael Bland (Para cycling)
  • Noeline Taurua (netball)
  • Roly Crichton (Para swimming)
  • Ross Machejefski (cycling)
  • Shane McLeod (hockey)
  • Simon Mayne (Para swimming)
  • Steve Hansen (rugby)

Last year's winner :
Gordon Walker

Sky Sport Emerging Talent Award


  • Alice Robinson (ski racing)
  • Celyn Edwards (Para swimming)
  • Erika Fairweather (swimming)
  • Hamish Macdonald (motorcycling)
  • Jessie Smith (BMX cycling)
  • Kanah Andrews-Nahu (weightlifting)
  • Kyle Glogoski (baseball)
  • Laurence Pithie (cycling)
  • Liberato Cacace (football)
  • Marcus Armstrong (motorsport)
  • Seb Menzies and Blake McGlashan (yachting)

Last year's winner :
Maddison-Lee Wesche

New Zealand's Favourite Sport Moment



Last year's winner :
Anna Leat

2019 Halberg Award Supreme


No nominees - the Halberg Award finalists are selected from the winners of the following categories:

  • ISPS Handa Team of the Year
  • ISPS Handa Para athlete/team of the Year
  • ISPS Handa Sportsman of the Year
  • High Performance Sport New Zealand Sportswoman of the Year

Last year's winner :